Russell Jr., Davis, Opponents on Weight for Showtime Dual-Location Event

By Mike Sloan May 19, 2017
Showtime is set to pull off the rare dual-location boxing event on Saturday as a few key stars int eh sport will be on full display for the world to see. With one event taking place in England and the other in the United States, the cable giant is pulling out all its cards to make sure everything goes off without a hitch. At least on Friday, all of the combatants on hand made weight, clearing the final hurdle toward the in-ring mayhem.

Up first on Showtime will be boxing’s youngest current world champion Gervonta Davis (17-0, 16 KOs) putting his IBF junior lightweight title on the line against the sanctioning body’s No. 1 contender Liam Walsh. The two will collide at Copper Box Arena in London and at Fridays weigh-ins, they were both on point. Walsh (21-0, 14 KOs) and Davis both came in identically at 130 pounds, giving their go-‘round the green light.

Across the pond at MGM National Harbor in Oxon Hill, Md., Gary Russell Jr. will defend his WBC featherweight crown against Oscar Escandon. The Colombia was on the scale first and he nailed it; Escandon (25-2, 17 KOs) weighed in at 125.75 pounds. Not to be outdone, Russell Jr. (27-1, 16 KOs) came in at a prime 125.5 pounds.

The action will begin at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT with the Davis-Walsh, followed by the other half of the televised event at 8 p.m. ET/5p.m. PT, all on Showtime.

Showtime Championship Boxing Weigh-in Results:

Gervonta Davis (130) vs. Liam Walsh (130)
Gary Russell Jr. (125.5) vs. Oscar Escandon (125.75)
Jose Uzcategui (166.5) vs. Andre Dirrell (167.5)
Rances Barthelemy (139.5) vs. Kiryl Relikh (139.5)

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>