Six Bouts Added to Glory 41: Holland

By Mike Sloan Apr 19, 2017
Glory, the world’s leading kickboxing promotion, announced late Tuesday that six bouts have been tacked onto the already-solid Glory 41: Holland event. With reigning heavyweight king Rico Verhoeven (50-10, 14 KOs) set to battle Ismael Lazaar (30-2-2, 15 KOs) in the main event of Glory 41 SuperFight Series card in a non-title affair, the action on the main card will have immediate title implications.

Egypt’s Hesdy Gerges (49-181, 23 KOs) will collide with towering Chi Lewis-Parry (8-1, 4 KOs), a bout that was originally supposed to occur at Glory 39, but it was scrapped at the last minute when “Chopper” was unable to fight due to illness. The winner of the bout will most likely land a crack at Verhoeven’s title in the near future.

The Glory 41 main card will be overflowing with heavyweights as a four-man one-night contender tournament to determine the next man in line to fight Verhoeven – provided he successfully defends his title – for the championship.

Xavier Vigney (10-1, 8 KOs) will stand opposite D’Angelo Marshall (14-2, 8 KOs) in the opening bout of the bracket, while Giannis Stoforidis (19-5, 11 KOs) will take on Anderson “Braddock” Silva (40-16-1, 25 KOs) on the other side. The two winners will face-off in the finals, which will serve as the main event.

The Glory 41 main card will also sport a featherweight attraction featuring China’s Chenglong Zhang (38-5, 11 KO, fighting out of China) as he takes on Dutch striker Wilson Sanches Mendes (5-2-1).

Robin Van Roosmalen (37-7, 21 KOs), a former lightweight and featherweight champion for the promotion, will take on Glory 39 tournament winner Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao (156-35-2, 25 KOs) for the vacant Glory featherweight title. Their duel serve as the co-feature to the Glory 41 SuperFight Series undercard, which will also feature a lightweight battle between Michael Duut (40-6, 17 KOs) and Mourad Bouzidi (79-22-2, 34 KOs).

Also slated for the SuperFight Series undercard is another lightweight clash featuring Tyjani Beztati (12-1, 5 KOs) against an opponent to be determined while featherweights Zakaria Zouggary (28-3-1, 15 KOs) and Anvar Boynazarov (79-20-2, 45 KOs) will lock horns.

All of the action will go down May 20 at Brabanthallen Exhibition Centre in Den Bosch, Holland. Exact details about the American broadcasts of both Glory 41 cards will be announced in the coming days.


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>
Write For Us