The Walkmen: UFC 183 Walkout Songs

By Mike Sloan Feb 2, 2015
Anderson Silva picked up his first win since October 2012. | Photo: D. Mandel/

It had been a painful and discouraging 13 months for Anderson Silva, the man some regard as the greatest fighter of all-time. His leg shattered on the knee of Chris Weidman in December 2013, and it was feared “The Spider” might never fight again. However, unlike his trademark walkout song “Ain’t No Sunshine” from hip-hop icon DMX, there were plenty of rays from the sun shining down on the former middleweight champion in the UFC 183 main event.

A capacity crowd inside the famed MGM Grand Garden Arena on Saturday in Las Vegas witnessed Silva get back on the winning track by picking apart the tougher-than-leather Nick Diaz en route to a unanimous decision. Though he did not end it in spectacular fashion, the Brazilian superstar proved he still had the goods to compete at the sport’s highest level.

Meanwhile, American Top Team veteran Thiago Alves likely made Aloe Blacc proud. He walked to the cage to Blacc’s ultra-popular “The Man,” and the Brazilian muay Thai machine undoubtedly lifted his spirit with a sensational come-from-behind stoppage against Jordan Mein, proving he was indeed The Man in their welterweight battle. Alves endured a pounding in the opening round but came out of nowhere in the second, landing a thudding kick to Mein’s gut before finishing off the Canadian with follow-up strikes.

Other notable UFC 183 walkout tracks included the played-out “Roar” from pop princess Katy Perry, courtesy of Miesha Tate; the similarly overused “American Badass” from Kid Rock, thanks to Tim Boetsch; and Billy Ocean’s “When the Going Gets Tough, the Tough Get Going,” via full-time fighter and part-time comic Tom Watson.


Anderson Silva: DMX “Ain’t No Sunshine”
Nick Diaz: Deftones “Feiticeira”
Tyron Woodley: Thi’sl feat. Flame “I Ain’t Turning Back”
Kelvin Gastelum: DJ Khaled feat. Nas and John Legend “Victory”
Al Iaquinta: Alabama 3 “Woke Up This Morning”
Joe Lauzon: Thousand Foot Krutch “Move”
Thales Leites: Bob Marley “Three Little Birds”
Tim Boetsch: Kid Rock “American Badass”
Thiago Alves: Aloe Blacc “The Man”
Jordan Mein: Dizzy Wright “State Of Mind”
Miesha Tate: Katy Perry “Roar”
Sara McMann: Disturbed “Indestructible”
Derek Brunson: Kevin Gates feat. August “I Don’t Get Tired”
Ed Herman: Ellie Goulding “Lights”
John Lineker: Fernando e Tiago Lima “Onde Esta O Amor”
Ian McCall: Avenged Sevenfold “This Means War”
Rafael Natal: Various Artists “Hino Nacional Brasileiro”
Tom Watson: Billy Ocean “When the Going Gets Tough, the Tough Get Going”
Ildemar Alcantara: Fort Minor “Remember The Name”
Richardson Moreira: Nick Deboni “Monster”
Andy Enz: Nina Simone “Feeling Good (Remix)”


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>