Abel Trujillo to Face Replacement Foe Jordan Rinaldi at UFC Fight Night on May 29

By Mike Sloan May 17, 2016


With Diego Ferreira having been removed from the UFC Fight Night “Almeida vs. Garbrandt”card on Memorial Day weekend due to a possible anti-doping violation, Abel Trujillo was in jeopardy of not having an opponent.

Officials from the UFC announced recently that Jordan Rinaldi has agreed to be a late replacement for Ferreira and will face Trujillo on less than two weeks’ notice. Rinaldi, a veteran of both the WSOF and RFA, had at one point lost three straight fights and four of five overall. However, “All Day” kicked things into high gear and has been unbeaten over the last 18 months, going 5-0 in that span with three submissions. The North Carolinian most recently fought in December when he submitted Lashawn Alcocks via second-round armbar.

Conversely, Trujillo has won four of five, all inside the Octagon. He’s coming off a stellar performance at UFC 195 where he submitted Tony Sims via guillotine choke in the first. The only men who have conquered “Killa” over the last five years have been Tony Ferguson and Khabib Nurmagomedov.

UFC Fight Night “Almeida vs. Garbrandt” goes down on Sunday, May 29 from the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas. Fox Sports 1 will televise the event following the prelims on UFC Fight Pass. The main undercard goes live on the sports network at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT; the prelims on UFC Fight Pass kick off at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>