Bellator 168 Weigh-in Results: Alessio Sakara, Joey Beltran Set for Scuffle

By Mike Sloan Dec 9, 2016

With the original main event rematch between Rafael Carvalho and Melvin Manhoef falling to the wayside when the Brazilian was injured in training, Bellator MMA had to scramble for a replacement bout to fill the top of the marquee. Luckily with Bellator 168 being in Italy, it was a no-brainer to have local hero Alessio Sakara slide right in and anchor the event against Joey Beltran.

At Friday’s weigh-ins, Beltran was the first of the two featured fighters to weigh in and he nailed it; Beltran came in at 205.2 pounds. Sakara, a longtime UFC veteran, was equally on point and checked in at 203.6 pounds.

Bellator 168 will go down inside Nelson Mandela Forum in Florence, Italy. Spike will televise the action beginning at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (online betting).

Bellator Kickboxing: Florence will see Denise Kielholtz take on Gloria Peritore in a highly-anticipated flyweight rematch for the promotion’s title in the main slot on a card that will run simultaneously with Bellator 168. Former Glory tournament champion Giorgio Petrosyan will oppose Jordan Watson while fan-favorite Joe Schilling will fight Victorio Lermano. Muay Thai veteran Kevin Ross will square off against Alessia Arduini and rounding out the Bellator Kickboxing card will be Luca Novello against Glory vet Karim Ghajji.

Unfortunately for kickboxing fans, the event will be aired via tape delay a week later as Bellator Kickboxing: Florence will be shown on Spike on Dec. 16 at 11:15 p.m. ET/8:15 p.m. PT immediately following Bellator 169: King Mo vs. Ishii.

Bellator 168 Weigh-in Results:

Alessio Sakara (203.6) vs. Joey Beltran (205.2)
John Salter (185.2) vs. Claudio Annichiarico (185.2)
Philipe Lins (205.8) vs. Kleber Raimundo Silva (205.9)
Goiti Yamauchi (156) vs. Valeriu Mircea (154.5)
Ed Ruth (189.2) vs. Emanuele Palombi (187.2)

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>