Bellator 35 Tournament Winners Bank $20K Apiece

By Staff Mar 7, 2011
Former International Fight League champion Jay Hieron (Pictured) pocketed an event-high $20,000 in wake of his controversial submission victory against Anthony Lapsley in the Bellator Fighting Championships Season 4 welterweight tournament at Bellator 35 on Saturday at the Tachi Palace Hotel and Casino in Lemoore, Calif. The California State Athletic Commission on Monday released the figures.

Hieron’s haul matched that of other tournament quarterfinal winners Lyman Good, Rick Hawn and Brent Weedman. The Xtreme Couture Mixed Martial Arts representative submitted Lapsley with a first-round rear-naked choke, even though he never tapped out or lost consciousness.

The pre-tournament favorite, Hieron will face Weedman in the semifinals sometime this spring. Having quietly rattled off 10 consecutive victories, Weedman advanced with a unanimous decision over Dan Hornbuckle. Good, the former welterweight champion, moved into the semis with his unanimous nod over the previously unbeaten Chris Lozano. Hawn punched his ticket with a unanimous verdict against fellow judoka Jim Wallhead.

Bellator 35 Payouts

Jay Hieron -- $20,000 (including $10,000 win bonus) def. Anthony Lapsley -- $10,000
Lyman Good -- $20,000 (including $10,000 win bonus) def. Chris Lozano -- $10,000
Rick Hawn -- $20,000 (including $10,000 win bonus) def. Jim Wallhead -- $10,000
Brent Weedman -- $20,000 (including $10,000 win bonus) def. Dan Hornbuckle -- $10,000
Zoila Gurgel -- $12,000 (including $6,000 win bonus) def. Karina Hallinan -- $1,500
Brandon Bender -- $3,000 (including $1,500 win bonus) def. Josh Herrick -- $1,000
Waachiim Spiritwolf -- $2,000 (including $1,000 win bonus) def. Jaime Jara -- $1,000
Paul Ruiz -- $1,000 (including $500 win bonus) def. Jesus Castro -- $500
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>
Write For Us