Boxing: Anthony Joshua, Wladimir Klitschko Cleared for Title Tilt

By Mike Sloan Apr 28, 2017


On Saturday, Anthony Joshua will put his IBF heavyweight title on the line against Wladimir Klitschko at Wembley Stadium in London, England, in what is the biggest heavyweight match in boxing in over a decade. As expected, both monoliths of the ring weighed in properly at Friday’s official weigh-ins, setting the stage for the showdown.

In what seemed a bit odd considering how long he has been the world champion. Klitschko (64-4, 53 KOs) stepped onto the scale first. The surefire future Hall of Famer from Ukraine looked like he was in his physical prime and came in at 240.4 pounds.

Joshua (18-0, 18 KOs), a 2012 Olympic gold medalist, is considered by many within the sport as the future of the boxing, was nearly 10 pounds heavier. The massive Brit came in officially at 250.1 pounds (online betting).

In America, Showtime will air the Joshua-Klitschko brawl live at 4:15 p.m. ET/1:15 p.m. PT via its Showtime Championship Boxing platform. HBO will then televise the action later in the day through its World Championship Boxing production at roughly 10:45 p.m. ET/7:45 p.m. PT on tape delay.

Showtime/HBO Championship Boxing Weigh-in Results:

Anthony Joshua (250.1) vs. Wladimir Klitschko (240.4)

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>