Broner-Allakhverdiev Undercard Fills Out With Unbeaten Prospects

By Mike Sloan Sep 24, 2015

With the main card of the Showtime-televised event anchored by Adrien Broner’s duel with Khabib Allakhverdiev on Oct. 3 set in stone, the network revealed its preliminary card on Thursday. A pair of undefeated prospects will be featured in separate bouts, which will be televised on Sho Extreme starting at 8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT.

Those who arrive early to the U.S. Bank Arena in Cincinnati will be able to watch Robert Easter Jr. and Jamel Herring attempt to take the next step in their respective careers.

Easter Jr. (15-0, 12 KOs) will face off against former world champion Miguel Acosta in a 10-round lightweight fight. Easter has already been featured on several big fight cards in Las Vegas and has done well each time out. He’s scored three consecutive knockouts, though his opposition had lost a combined eight of their last 10 bouts.

Acosta (29-8-2, 23 KOs) captured the WBA lightweight title in 2010 when he knocked out Paulus Moses in the sixth, but he lost it the following year when Brandon Rios stopped him in the 10th. Though he bounced back with a win several months later, Acosta has lost four in a row, including a 10-round decision loss to Michael Perez in January.

Herring (13-0, 8 KOs) is slated to take on Takubu Amidu and has feasted on similar opposition. He’s coming off a third-round TKO of Ariel Vasquez in August and is favored over Takubu (21-7-2, 19 KOs), who has dropped three straight bouts.

The Sho Extreme telecast will lead into the Showtime-televised Broner-Allakhverdiev event, which airs live at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. In the co-main event, IBF junior lightweight champion Jose Pedraza (20-0, 12 KOs) defends his title against veteran Edner Cherry (34-6-2, 19 KOs).


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>