Bryan Caraway Injured; Jimmie Rivera in Need of Opponent at UFC Fight Night 103

By Mike Sloan Jan 4, 2017


It looks like Bryan Caraway’s recent wave of success will have to wait a little longer to continue thanks to an injury in training. Caraway was slated to face fellow bantamweight Jimmie Rivera at UFC Fight Night 103 on Jan. 15, but the Las Vegas resident has withdrawn from the bout.

MMAjunkie.com was the first to report the news of Caraway’s exit from the UFC Fight Night 103 card.

Caraway, who has back-to-back wins over Eddie Wineland and Aljamain Sterling, has been dealing with a nagging shoulder injury since December. “Kid Lightning” was hoping to continue the momentum from his May win over Sterling, but there is no word on when he’ll be able to resume training and, more importantly, fight again. Attempts at reaching Caraway and his Xtreme Couture team were unsuccessful.

Rivera, who has won a whopping 19 consecutive fights, is still likely to fight on the bill, but a last-minute replacement opponent has yet to be determined.

UFC Fight Night 103 goes down inside Talking Stick Resort in Phoenix, Ariz. The main card will be televised live on FS1 beginning at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT and will be anchored by former UFC lightweight and welterweight champion B.J. Penn against surging Mexican contender Yair Rodriguez. The prelims will air on the same station at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT while the early prelims will be streamed live on UFC Fight Pass at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>