Eduardo Dantas-Darrion Caldwell Bantamweight Title Bout Set for Bellator 177 in Budapest

By Tristen Critchfield Feb 8, 2017


Eduardo Dantas will put his bantamweight championship on the line when he takes on Darrion Caldwell at Bellator 177 in Budapest.

The California-based promotion announced the pairing on Wednesday. Bellator 177 takes place at the Budapest Sports Arena on April 14 and will also include a featherweight bout pitting Adam Borics against Anthony Taylor. The card will air on Spike TV at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT.

Additionally, Bellator Kickboxing 6 will also take place at the same venue and will feature a welterweight title rematch between Zoltan Laszak and Karim Ghajii. The kickboxing portion of the event will be broadcast on Spike immediately following Bellator 177 at 11 p.m. ET/10 p.m. CT.

A two-time 135-pound champ, Dantas regained bantamweight gold with a five-round verdict over Marcos Galvao at Bellator 156. He then avenged the sole defeat of his promotional tenure with a majority decision triumph against Joe Warren at Bellator 166 on Dec. 2. The 28-year-old Brazilian owns a 19-4 professional record.

Caldwell, meanwhile, rebounded from an upset loss to Joe Taimanglo at Bellator 159 in their rematch, as he outpointed the Guam native at Bellator 167. The former NCAA national champion wrestler is 10-1 over the course of his MMA career.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>