Flying Cage to Make U.S. Debut at Bellator 183 on Saturday Night in San Jose

By Tristen Critchfield Sep 21, 2017
If a fight card featuring big-name veterans and rising prospects wasn’t enough, Bellator MMA’s flying cage will make its United States debut on Saturday night in San Jose, Calif.

Both Bellator 183 and Bellator Kickboxing 7 are set to take place at the SAP Center on Saturday, and the unique cage allows the promotion to transition from kickboxing to mixed martial arts in less than 15 minutes. In previous dual events, the cage and ring were situated side-by-side at the venue, sometimes with simultaneous action taking place.

A description of the flying cage per a Bellator MMA release:

A must-see spectacle, the steel structure is suspended from above and lowered to the platform beneath allowing the Bellator Kickboxing ring to completely transform into the Bellator MMA cage in less than 15 minutes. Having been featured at previous events in Florence, Italy, Torino, Italy and Budapest, Hungary, the Flying Cage has never before been utilized in the United States. Bellator is proud to bring this unique experience to its Bay Area home at SAP Center in San Jose, Calif. on September 23.

Bellator 183 is headlined by a lightweight clash between former UFC champion Benson Henderson and Patricky Freire. The main card airs on Spike at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT, with preliminary bouts streaming on Bellator.com at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

Bellator Kickboxing 7 features a featherweight title showdown pitting Kevin Ross (44-11) against Domenico Lomurno (22-8) as well as a welterweight championship tilt between Karim Ghajji (98-13-1) and Raymond Daniels (13-3). Bellator Kickboxing 7 will be broadcast via tape delay following Bellator 184 on Oct. 6.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>