Glory 25: Van Roosmalen Edges Sitsongpeenong via Controversial Decision

By Mike Sloan Nov 6, 2015

Glory 25: Milan was an event loaded with plenty of kickboxing action, continuing in the promotion’s tradition of excellence. There were knockouts, blood, back-and-forth battles and, unfortunately, questionable officiating.

The main event between defending lightweight champion Robin van Roosmalen and Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong was an entertaining affair with plenty of exchanges, but the Thai fighter was a step ahead of the champ from the start. His in-and-out movement not only gave the Dutch fighter fits early, it created plentiful openings for counters.

Though van Roosmalen was never badly hurt, he was beaten to the punch repeatedly and it seemed as though the title would switch hands at the fight’s conclusion. However, all three ringside judges scored in favor of van Roosmalen 48-47, allowing him to retain his title. Sitsongpeenong, who would have become the first Thai fighter to ever capture a Glory world title, felt as though he had done enough to win, as did the vast majority of the fans inside the Palalper in Monza, Italy.

Murthel Groenhart toppled Karim Ghajji in the finals of the Glory 25 welterweight tournament via decision, winning with tallies of 29-27 (twice) and 30-27. Groenhart rocked his foe and dropped him in the first, but couldn’t put him away and settled for a dominant decision win.

Groenhart, who took out Nicola Gallo at 1:03 of the second in the tourney’s opening match due to cuts, will face Glory welterweight champ Nieky Holzken on Dec. 4 at Glory 26 in Amsterdam. Ghajji edged Yoann Kongolo via decision to reach the finals.

Giorgio Petrosyan dominated Josh Jauncey in his first Glory match in two years, winning by the margin of 30-27 on all three cards. Petrosyan looked nearly untouchable as he picked apart his opponent from the start, never allowing him to get his gameplan going.

In the Glory 25 Super Fight Series, Serhiy Adamchuk defeated Gabriel Varga via unanimous decision (48-47 x 3) to win the featherweight title. Adamchuk tied the defending champion up routinely throughout the contest, but a point was never deducted, thus allowing him to squeak past his foe on points to snatch the title from the champ.

In other Super Fight action, Artem Vahkitov edged Danyo Illunga via unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27); Vittorio Lemano scored a second-round TKO (cut) over Samir Boukhidous at the 2:30 mark; Stefano Bruno took out Hosam Radwan via TKO at 2:37 of the second; and Anatoly Moiseev toppled Teo Mikelic via unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26 x 2).


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>