Glory 29 Weigh-ins: Holzken, Kongolo Cleared for Welterweight Title Showdown

By Mike Sloan Apr 15, 2016

Glory 29: Copenhagen has had a few shake-ups in the last few days with some of the featured fighters becoming injured and replaced. Thankfully Glory was not only able to find suitable replacements at the last minute but also that all of the combatants were able to make weight at Friday’s weigh-ins, giving the entire event the green light.

The main event will feature reigning Glory welterweight champion Nieky Holzken defending his crown against Yoann Kongolo. Both men looked chiseled out of stone as they made the 170-pound limit easily. Kongolo was the first to the scale and he nailed it; he clocked in at 169.1 pounds. Holzken was a bit lighter as he officially weighed 169.3 pounds.

Current Glory featherweight champ Serhiy Adamchuk stepped up on a day’s notice to fight at lightweight against Mohammed El-Mir after Niclas Larsen had to withdraw due to an infection. Adamchuk tipped the scale at 154.1 pounds while El-Mir checked in at 154.3, keeping a critical slot on the main card intact.

Glory 29: Copenhagen airs live Saturday on ESPN3 at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT, with replays on ESPN2 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT. The Glory 29 Super Fight Series airs live on UFC FIGHT PASS at 1:30 p.m. E /10:30 a.m. PT.

Glory 29: Copenhagen Weigh-in Results:

Nieky Holzken (169.3) vs. Yoann Kongolo (169.1)
Serhiy Adamchuk (154.1) vs. Mohammed El-Mir (154.3)
Anderson Silva (246.7) vs. Ismael Londt (252.2)
Jahfarr Wilnis (249.8) vs. Kirill Kornilov (226)

Glory 29 Super Fight Series:

Zack Mwekassa (207.2) vs. Zinedine Hameur-Lain (203.3)
Cihad Kepenek (246.7) vs. Tomas Mozny (237.4)
Jonatan Oliveira (169.1) vs. Meran Zangana (168.4)
Rhassan Muhareb (152.6) vs. Abdou Karim Chorr (153.4)
Harut Grigorian (162.3) vs. Máximo Suarez (162.5)


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>