Gomez, Mitchell Take Titles; Olympian Abas Debut Successful at TPF 4

By Joseph Zigler and Jeff Sherwood May 6, 2010
Jeff Sherwood/Sherdog.com

LEMOORE, Calif. -- Ulysses Gomez outpointed Luis Gonzales to capture the Tachi Palace Fights flyweight championship at TPF 4 “Cinco de Mayhem” on Wednesday at the Tachi Palace Hotel and Casino. Gomez earned a unanimous decision in a close back-and-forth battle.

The first round was all Gomez, as Gonzales seemed to be on the run after absorbing a series of powerful uppercuts. Gonzales hung on to survive the period, and for the next four rounds, the fighters exchanged leg kicks and takedowns. Neither one found an opening to finish.

The crowd did not like the decision and booed loudly when the scores were read. Gomez has won four consecutive fights since his 2008 defeat to Rambaa Somdet.

Mitchell Crowned Welterweight Champion

The undefeated David Mitchell and UFC veteran Tim McKenzie met in a brief welterweight title match.

It was Mckenzie who landed first with a nice head kick, and Mitchell wanted no part of it. Mitchell closed the distance, took it to the ground and locked in a fight-ending guillotine choke. McKenzie tapped just 70 seconds into round one, giving Mitchell the 170-pound crown.

Jeff Sherwood/Sherdog.com

Olympian Abas won his MMA debut.
Abas Ekes Out Decision in Debut

Three-time NCAA wrestling champion and 2004 Olympic silver medalist Steven Abas made a successful professional mixed martial arts debut, as he defeated Sam Stevens-Milo by majority decision.

Abas looked expectedly raw, but his wrestling skills were enough to allow him to remain in control most of the fight. However, he ran into trouble in the third round. Stevens-Milo locked in a tight guillotine choke and appeared close to finishing the fight. Referee Jason McCoy then stopped the action to deduct a point from Abas for eye gouging. Abas lost the point, but it freed from the submission.

‘Tachi Kid’ Submits Crisp

Poppies Martinez did not need much time to deal with King of the Cage veteran Darren Crisp.

The popular local welterweight circled Crisp but showed no intention of throwing a strike. After a brief dance, Martinez put Crisp to the mat and locked in a guillotine choke from the top. Crisp tapped out 2:46 into the first round.

Olson Outpoints Klarcyk

Casey Olson looked strong, as he grinded out a unanimous decision over former Palace Fighting Championship featherweight titleholder Shawn Klarcyk. Olson used superior wrestling and stout submission defense in earning 30-27 nods from all three judges.

Klarcyk was game and threw up one submission attempt after another from the bottom, but he never came close to a finish. Olson defended almost every submission in the book, and Klarcyk just never found a way out from underneath the superior wrestler.

Other Bouts
Phil Collins def. Morris Hidalgo -- Submission (Heel Hook) 2:25 R1
Alexander Crispim def. Enoch Wilson -- Unanimous Decision
Darrell Montague def. Jeremy Bolt -- KO (Body Kick) 2:21 R3
Russ Miura def. Jesse Bowen -- Submission (Arm-Triangle Choke) 0:58 R2
Mickey Martinez vs. Mark Matthews -- No Contest (Eye Poke)
Rumulo Melo def. Chase Hackett -- Unanimous Decision
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>