Longtime UFC Vet Brendan Schaub to Co-Host Pre-Show for Bellator Pay-Per-View

By Tristen Critchfield Jun 7, 2017


Bellator has enlisted the services of “Ultimate Fighter 10” finalist Brendan Schaub to help with coverage of its upcoming pay-per-view event.

The California-based promotion announced on Wednesday that Schaub will serve as co-host with Jenn Brown for Bellator NYC “Sonnen vs. Silva” on June 24 in New York. According to a release, Schaub “will offer insight and analysis for all the fights on Spike’s stacked Bellator 180 “Davis vs. Bader” card leading into the biggest event in the promotion’s history, Bellator NYC “Sonnen vs. Silva.” Additionally, Schaub will be featured in original Bellator digital content in advance of the event.”

Schaub hasn’t fought since suffering a first-round technical knockout loss to Travis Browne at UFC 181 on Dec. 6, 2014. In 2015, he MMAFighting.com, citing both his distaste for the Reebok outfitting deal and his burgeoning podcast career. Schaub currently hosts the MMA podcast “Big Brown Breakdown” and is the co-host of the podcast “Fight and the Kid” with Bryan Callen.

A former professional football player, Schaub reached the finals of “TUF 10,” where he was knocked out in the first round by Roy Nelson. The Colorado native went on to compile a 6-5 record in the Octagon, earning notable victories over the likes of Gabriel Gonzaga, Mirko Filipovic, Lavar Johnson and Matt Mitrione.

Bellator NYC takes place at Madison Square Garden and is headlined by a light heavyweight tilt between Chael Connen and Wanderlei Silva. The card airs on pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Immediately prior, Bellator 180 will air on Spike at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT with a bill topped by a light heavyweight championship clash between Phil Davis and Ryan Bader. The Bellator 180 prelims will stream on Bellator.com at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>