Mayweather-Maidana 2 will Start an Hour Earlier than Traditional Boxing Pay-Per-Views

By C.J. Tuttle Aug 27, 2014
The highly anticipated rematch pitting Floyd Mayweather Jr. against Marcos Maidana will start an hour earlier than the norm when it comes to boxing pay-per-views.

In a move that is likely geared towards appealing to casual fans of boxing, instead of the traditional 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT timeslot, the Sept. 13 event will begin at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

The earlier start time is another step being taken to improve the television viewer’s experience for live boxing events. While those in town for the card in Las Vegas may scoff at the news, purchasers of the event in the Eastern and Central time zones, which make up nearly 80 percent of the U.S. population, won’t be forced to stay up as late as usual in order to witness the conclusion of the event.

“Pay-per-view boxing events have changed, and we think it’s time the scheduling changed too,” said Stephen Espinoza, executive vice president of Showtime Sports via press release. “Along with our partners at Mayweather Promotions and Golden Boy Promotions, we have been presenting compelling four-fight cards with multiple 12-round world championship bouts. As a result, we’ve seen the start of the main event coming later and later into the night which is not an ideal viewing experience for viewers in the Eastern and Central time zones. No other major sport makes a significant portion of their audiences wait until well past midnight for the peak of the event. Showtime PPV will no longer be one of the exceptions.”

The Mayweather versus Maidana welterweight championship rematch will take place at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>
Around The Web