Premier Boxing Champions Weigh-in Results: Chavez Jr. Heavy Again; All Others Cleared

By Mike Sloan Jul 17, 2015

Marcos Reyes predicted all week long that Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. would not be able to make the contracted weight of 169 pounds for their Saturday main event on Showtime. Even after the Chavez camp got their wish of bumping up the weight limit to 170 pounds, “The Son of the Legend” still missed weight.

After Reyes (33-2, 24 KOs) strolled onto the scale and easily made 168.4 pounds, his foe, the oft-maligned Chavez (48-2-1, 32 KOs) came in at 170.8. Texas commission officials at Don Haskins Center in El Paso ordered him to lose the extra poundage. Chavez Jr. must lose the additional weight unless a monetary agreement can be made between the camps, or else the fight could be in jeopardy. Their fight headlines a card being televised on Showtime at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

All four main card fighters made weight for tomorrow’s CBS-televised card at the same venue. Northern Ireland’s Carl Frampton is set to defend his IBF super bantamweight title against Alejandro “Cobrita” Gonzalez Jr. and easily made the 122-pound limit. “The Jackal” tipped the scale at 121.6 pounds while his challenger came in at 121.4.

In the CBS co-feature, which will be televised live at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT, heavyweights Chris Arreola and Fred Kassi both made weight. Arreola landed at 246.8 pounds while Kassi clocked in at 225.

Premier Boxing Champions Weigh-in Results
Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. (170.8) vs. Marcos Reyes (168.4)
Carl Frampton (121.6) vs. Alejandro Gonzalez Jr. (121.4)
Chris Arreola (246.8) vs. Fred Kassi (225)


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>