Shawn Porter Withdraws from Bout vs. Dulorme on Mayweather-McGregor Card

By Mike Sloan Aug 17, 2017
Though he’s no stranger to huge fights, former world champion Shawn Porter was set to compete in front of the biggest audience — by far — of his career. Unfortunately for “Showtime,” that is not going to happen.

Porter (27-2-1, 17 KOs) was slated to face former world title challenger Thomas Dulorme in the featured bout of the preliminary card of the massive Floyd Mayweather – Conor McGregor event on Aug. 26. However, Porter and his team announced Thursday afternoon that he had to withdraw from the bout due to a death in his family.

Stepping in on short notice to face Dulorme (24-2, 18 KOs) is 2008 Olympic bronze medalist Yordenis Ugas (19-3, 9 KOs).

“I have been training for this fight for a several weeks now. I knew at the time Porter was going to be a tough challenger, so I took training camp extremely serious,” said Dulorme. “Fighting on a card this big, you cannot doubt anyone in front of you. My new opponent doesn't change much. All I can do is continue to stay focused and listen to my team and bring the best fight I can.”

Fight day coverage will begin on Fox and Fox Deportes with the prelims at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT. From there, the pay-per-view extravaganza kicks off at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>