UFC 146 Salaries: Heavyweights Dos Santos, Mir, Velasquez Lead Payroll with $200,000 Purses

By Mike Whitman May 29, 2012
Junior dos Santos, Frank Mir and Cain Velasquez walked away from UFC 146 with the event’s largest disclosed paydays, pocketing $200,000 apiece for their efforts last Saturday night.

Nevada Athletic Commission officials Tuesday informed Sherdog.com of the payout figures. Dos Santos successfully defended his heavyweight title in the UFC 146 headliner at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, finishing ex-champion Mir in the second round via technical knockout. Both dos Santos and Mir were paid a flat rate, meaning dos Santos did not receive a disclosed win bonus.

The evening’s all-heavyweight pay-per-view card also saw onetime UFC titlist Velasquez earn a dominant victory over former Strikeforce talent Antonio Silva ($70,000). Velasquez wasted no time in unleashing effective offense against his larger foe, catching a leg kick and putting “Bigfoot” on his back. From there, the American Kickboxing Academy standout unloaded with a sustained supply of punches and elbows that badly lacerated the Brazilian and forced referee Josh Rosenthal to halt the contest in round one.

Additionally, main card competitors Stefan Struve, Roy Nelson and Stipe Miocic pocketed $58,000, $40,000 and $20,000 for their respective victories over Lavar Johnson ($26,000), Dave Herman ($21,000) and Shane del Rosario ($20,000). The full disclosed payroll for the event totaled $1,233,000.

The disclosed purses reported by state athletic commissions do not include any performance-based or discretionary bonuses that may be awarded to a fighter by the promotion. Additionally, the reported figures do not reflect any deductions made by the commission for taxes, insurance, etc., and do not include any sponsorship money or pay-per-view percentages that a fighter may acquire for their performance.

UFC 146 Salaries:

Junior dos Santos: $200,000
(No win bonus)

Frank Mir: $200,000

Cain Velasquez: $200,000
(Includes $100,000 win bonus)

Antonio Silva: $70,000

Roy Nelson: $40,000
(Includes $20,000 win bonus)

Dave Herman $21,000

Stipe Miocic: $20,000
(Includes $10,000 win bonus)

Shane del Rosario: $20,000

Stefan Struve: $58,000
(Includes $29,000 win bonus)

Lavar Johnson: $26,000

Darren Elkins: $28,000
(Includes $14,000 win bonus)

Diego Brandao: $15,000

Jamie Varner: $20,000
(Includes $10,000 win bonus)

Edson Barboza: $18,000

C.B. Dollaway: $40,000
(Includes $20,000 win bonus)

Jason Miller: $45,000

Dan Hardy: $50,000
(Includes $25,000 win bonus)

Duane Ludwig: $18,000

Paul Sass: $20,000
(Includes $10,000 win bonus)

Jacob Volkmann: $20,000

Glover Teixeira: $30,000
(Includes $15,000 win bonus)

Kyle Kingsbury: $12,000

Mike Thomas Brown: $52,000
(Includes $26,000 win bonus)

Daniel Pineda: $10,000


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>
Write For Us