UFC on Fox 20 Weigh-in Results: Holm, Shevchenko Cleared for Pivotal Matchup

By Mike Sloan Jul 22, 2016



The Ultimate Fighting Championship returns to the Windy City on Saturday for another edition of UFC on Fox. Headlining the event is a pivotal matchup between former women’s bantamweight champion Holly Holm in her first fight since losing her title and rising contender Valentina Shevchenko.

Holm caught fire last November when she scored one of the biggest upsets in UFC history by knocking then-unbeaten champion Ronda Rousey out cold with a textbook head kick. But in her first defense earlier this year, “The Preacher’s Daughter” was submitted in the final round and lost her belt to Miesha Tate. Standing in her way is the dangerous multiple-time muay Thai champion Shevchenko.

At Friday’s weigh-ins, both women were completely on point at the scale, giving their top-billing tussle the greenlight. Shevchenko, who had won five in a row before losing to current champion Amanda Nunes, clocked in officially at 133 pounds. Not to be outdone, Holm looked as ready as ever; she came in at 135 pounds.

The co-feature will see longtime veteran and former Strikeforce lightweight champion Gilbert Melendez locking horns with Edson Barboza. Melendez, who has lost two straight and three of four overall since signing with the UFC, is desperate for a win. He tipped the scale for his critical showdown at 155 pounds. Barboza, meanwhile, clocked in at 155 pounds in what could be a career-altering bout.

UFC on Fox 20 will go down inside the United Center in the heart of Chicago. UFC Fight Pass will stream four bouts live beginning at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT before handing off the action to Fox with the second preliminary card at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT. Finally, the main card will air on the network at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

UFC on Fox 20 Weigh-in Results:

Holly Holm (135) vs. Valentina Shevchenko (133)
Edson Barboza (155) vs. Gilbert Melendez (155)
Bojan Mihajlovic (228) vs. Francis Ngannou (259)
Felice Herrig (115) vs. Kailin Curran (116)
Eddie Wineland (135) vs. Frankie Saenz (135)
Darren Elkins (145) vs. Godofredo Castro (145)
Kamaru Usman (170) vs. Alexander Yakovlev (170)
Michael Richard Cunha dos Prazeres (155) vs. J.C. Cottrell (155)
Alex Oliveira (170) vs. James Moontasri (170)
Jim Alers (145) vs. Jason Knight (145)
Dmitry Smoliakov (251) vs. Luis Henrique Barbosa de Oliveira (253)

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>