UFC on Fox 23 Weigh-in Results: Valentina Shevchenko, Julianna Pena Cleared

By Mike Sloan Jan 27, 2017




The Ultimate Fighting Championship's female bantamweight division has been in a tailspin for the last 18 months as its title has switched hands several times. Ronda Rousey was once thought to be invincible inside the Octagon, but then she was clobbered by Holly Holm. Holm was then choked out by Miesha Tate, who was the nuked by Amanda Nunes.

As it stands now, Nunes is head and shoulders above the rest at 135 pounds. She recently tore Rousey to shreds and, for now, has run out of quality opponents with whom she can defend her title against. However, when UFC on Fox 23 concludes Saturday night, there should be at least one woman who has put herself in the crosshairs of the Brazilian champion: either Valentina Shevchenko or Julianna Pena. The two will collide in the main event of the UFC's return to the "Centennial State" as the card will take place inside the Pepsi Center in downtown Denver and at Friday's weigh-ins, both ladies were on point.

Shevchenko, who most recently out-pointed Holm at UFC on Fox 20 last July, is considered by many MMA experts to be the biggest threat to Nunes' reign as champ. The former European muay Thai champion had won five straight bouts before dropping a unanimous nod to Nunes at UFC 196 nearly a year ago and she is determined to even the score with "Lioness." At the scale, "Bullet" weighed in at 134.4 pounds. Pena, meanwhile, has won her last four bouts, most recently against Cat Zingano via decision at UFC 200. "The Venezuelan Vixen" tipped the scale at 135 pounds, clearing the final hurdle before fight night.

UFC on Fox 23 will begin on UFC Fight Pass at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT. From there, the action will switch over to FS1 for the rest of the prelims at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT. Finally, the main card will go live on Fox beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

UFC on Fox 23 Weigh-in Results:

Valentina Shevchenko (134.4) vs. Julianna Pena (135)
Donald Cerrone (170.8) vs. Jorge Masvidal (171)
Andrei Arlovski (246) vs. Francis Ngannou (253.6)
Alex Caceres (145) vs. Jason Knight (145.6)
Sam Alvey (185.6) vs. Nate Marquardt (185.6)
Raphael Assuncao (135.4) vs. Aljamain Sterling (135.8)
Bobby Nash (170.8) vs. Jingliang Li (170.4)
Luis Henrique da Silva (205.8) vs. Jordan Johnson (205)
Alessio Di Chirico (185.6) vs. Eric Spicely (185.8)
Marcos Rogerio de Lima (*209.6) vs. Jeremy Kimball (204)
Eric Shelton (125.8) vs. Alexandre Pantoja (126)
J.C. Cottrell (155.8) vs. Jason Gonzalez (156)

* Marcos Rogerio de Lima missed weight and will be fined 20 percent of his purse.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>