UFC on Fox 25 Weigh-ins: Chris Weidman, Kelvin Gastelum Set for Middleweight Clash

By Mike Sloan Jul 21, 2017



The newly-renovated Nassau Coliseum in Long Island, New York, is set to host its first-ever Ultimate Fighting Championship event on Saturday as former middleweight champion Chris Weidman will look to turn his career around against Kelvin Gastelum. UFC on Fox 25 is anchored by that pivotal middleweight affair and at Friday’s official weigh-ins, both men came in on the money.

Weidman, who shocked the mixed martial arts world nearly four years ago by knocking out Anderson Silva to become the undisputed champion at 185 pounds, became one of the best fighters on the planet during his reign. A wacky injury knockout win over Silva in their rematch allowed the New Yorker to retain his belt and he successfully defended the strap against Lyoto Machida and Vitor Belfort, both former light heavyweight titlists. But successive losses to Luke Rockhold, Yoel Romero and Gegard Mousasi have left “All American” on the ropes and in desperate need of a win. At the scale on Friday, Weidman looked solid and came in at 186 pounds.

Gastelum, meanwhile, has been on a torrid streak as of late. The former welterweight who struggled to make the 170-pound limit beat former world champ Johny Hendricks, knocked out Tim Kennedy and then outclassed Belfort, though his win over Belfort was overturned when the Arizona-based fighter failed a urinalysis. Gastelum has looked nearly unbeatable since moving up to middleweight and he expects to give Weidman his fourth consecutive defeat. Gastelum tipped the scale at 185.6 on Friday.

UFC on Fox 25 will begin with the initial prelims at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT on UFC Fight Pass. From there, the action will shift to FS1 at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT for the rest of the prelims, followed by the main card of Fox at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

UFC on Fox 25 Weigh-in Results:

Chris Weidman (186) vs. Kelvin Gastelum (185.6)
Dennis Bermudez (145.4) vs. Darren Elkins (145.6)
Gian Villante (205.8) vs. Patrick Cummins (205.4)
Thomas Almeida (135.2) vs. Jimmie Rivera (135.8)
Lyman Good (170.4) vs. Elizeu Zaleski dos Santos (170.4)
Eryk Anders (185.4) vs. Rafael Natal (185.2)
Ryan LaFlare (170.8) vs. Alex Oliveira (170.6)
Damian Grabowski (261.4) vs. Chase Sherman (250.8)
Kyle Bochniak (145.2) vs. Jeremy Kennedy (144.8)
Brian Kelleher (135) vs. Marlon Vera (135.6)
Junior Albini (264.6) vs. Timothy Johnson (264.2)
Shane Burgos (145.2) vs. Godofredo Castro (145)
Frankie Perez (155.6) vs. Chris Wade (155.6)

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>