WSOF 11 Takes Early Afternoon Slot for Promotion’s July 5 NBC Debut

By Tristen Critchfield Jun 6, 2014
Justin Gaethje will defend his WSOF title in a matinee bout. | Dave Mandel/Sherdog.com



WSOF 11 might be taking place on the same day as UFC 175, but it will not be going head-to-head against what promises to be one of the year’s biggest cards.

Instead, World Series of Fighting will occupy an early afternoon slot for its debut on NBC, the promotion announced Friday. The four-bout WSOF 11 main card begins on the network at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT, while the preliminary card streams on NBCSports.com beginning at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT. That schedule should allow WSOF to finish its event before the UFC 175 begins, although official start times have yet to be announced by the Zuffa-owned organization.

WSOF 11 takes place at Ocean Center in Daytona Beach, Fla., and is headlined by a lightweight championship clash between Justin Gaethje and Nick Newell. Additionally, a welterweight rubber match pitting Jon Fitch against Josh Burkman is slated for the co-main event, while recently released UFC talent Melvin Guillard squares off with Gesias Cavalcante in a featured lightweight bout.

“We’ve been talking about it for some time now, and we’re thrilled to see all of the pieces falling perfectly into place for our first show on NBC,” WSOF President Ray Sefo stated in a release. “With World Series of Fighting 11 taking place over the holiday weekend in Daytona, the world’s most famous beach, we are anticipating fireworks from the Fourth to continue in the cage. I know that it will be another great night of fights for all of our fans.”

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>
Around The Web