WSOF 30 ‘Branch vs. Starks’ Fight Card Finalized with 10 Bouts

By Staff Mar 30, 2016

World Series of Fighting has confirmed the 10-fight lineup for Saturday’s WSOF 30.

The event, which takes place April 2 at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, will be headlined by a WSOF middleweight title bout between two-division champ David Branch and challenger Clifford Starks. In the co-main event slot, longtime UFC contender Jon Fitch will try to snatch the vacant WSOF welterweight belt in a meeting with Brazil’s Joao Zeferino.

Also featured on the NBCSN-televised main card is a light heavyweight tilt between Vinny Magalhaes and Jake Heun, plus a welterweight clash pitting Abu Azaitar against Danny Davis Jr.

Topping the preliminary slate is a duel of welterweight prospects Abubakar Nurmagomedov and Matthew Frincu, both of whom enter the bout with just one loss to their name.

Unbeaten lightweight Steve Kozola, who was set to take on Gil Guardado, will instead meet late replacement Matt Church in a 160-pound catchweight affair. Guardado recently suffered a broken nose and was forced to withdraw, according to a statement from WSOF.

In a new addition to the card, middleweights Rex Harris and Clinton Williams are set to square off in a three-round bout. Juan Carlos Garcia and Jason Pacheco will clash at flyweight, while Adam Acquaviva and Andres Ponce do battle at bantamweight. The show’s opening bout has been altered, as Zach Bunnell steps in to replace Nick Salantri in a welterweight match against Jeff Roman.

The main card of WSOF 30 airs live on NBCSN at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT. The undercard will stream live on beginning at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT.


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>