Fan vote declares BW title fight main event for MFC 38

Sep 24, 2013
(PRESS RELEASE) -- Birchak vs. Jones takes top billing for Behind Enemy Lines Oct. 4 For the first time ever, the Maximum Fighting Championship let the fans decide the main event of an upcoming show.

The 'PunchTheVote' campaign has wrapped up and the fans voted for the main event they most wanted to see get top billing. The results have been tabulated and MFC 38: Behind Enemy Lines will truly be a night of firsts.

MFC 38 is the first time the Maximum Fighting Championship boasts three title fights on the same night. And fittingly, the very first MFC bantamweight champion will be crowned in the night's true main event.

Though it came down to the wire in fan voting cast via Twitter and Facebook, the MFC bantamweight title fight pitting Anthony Birchak against Tito Jones has the honor of being the main event for MFC 38.

The bantamweight matchup narrowly slipped past the middleweight title fight featuring "Smilen" Sam Alvey against Jason "The Mover" South in the voting. The heavyweight tilt with Smealinho Rama facing Anthony Hamilton will be the first of the three title fights on Friday, October 4 from the Shaw Conference Centre in Edmonton, Alberta, and airing live on AXS TV Fights.

"All three of these title fights are deserving of main-event status, so we wanted to hear what the fans had to say, and they decided which of the three they felt belonged with top billing," said Scott Zerr, Director of Media & Fighter Relations for the Maximum Fighting Championship.

Along with the three title fights, the MFC 38 lineup features a critical matchup in the lightweight division as Jonatas Novaes enters a hotly anticipated rematch with Kurt Southern - the winner being guaranteed a shot at the MFC lightweight title in 2014.

Also on the main card for MFC 38 is a bout pitting hot prospect Teddy Ash against durable veteran Jared McComb, plus a lightweight tussle with Aaron Gallant taking on Matt Jelly.

The MFC 38 broadcast on AXS TV Fights begins at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT, and the MFC 38 prelims air live on the Maximum Fighting Championship's Facebook page beginning at 8:15 p.m. ET/6:15 p.m. MT/5:15 p.m. PT.

Tickets for MFC 38: Behind Enemy Lines are available at www.ticketmaster.ca and by calling the MFC Ticket Hotline at (780) 504-2024.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>
Around The Web