A Lineal History: UFC Welterweight Championship

By Mike Fridley and Brian Knapp Nov 14, 2012
Brought into existence on Oct. 16, 1998, the welterweight championship was the third of eight Ultimate Fighting Championship titles to be introduced. A then-30-year-old Pat Miletich became the first 170-pound boss at UFC 17.5, where he defeated Mikey Burnett by decision in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Miletich held the title for nearly three years, defending it on four different occasions.

Since Miletich, five other men have held the welterweight crown: Carlos Newton, Matt Hughes, B.J. Penn, Georges St. Pierre and Matt Serra. Only Hughes and St. Pierre have captured the prize more than once. The 31-year-old St. Pierre -- who has held the championship since April 2008 -- will return from reconstructive knee surgery to face interim titleholder Carlos Condit in a unification bout at UFC 154 on Saturday at the Bell Centre in Montreal.

Click on the athletes below to learn more about each fighter's history.

GSP GSP GSP GSP GSP GSP Matt Serra Matt Serra Matt Serra Matt Hughes Matt Hughes Matt Hughes Matt Hughes Matt Hughes Matt Hughes B.J. Penn B.J. Penn B.J. Penn Carlos Newton Carlos Newton Pat Miletich Pat Miletich Pat Miletich Mikey Burnett Jorge Patino Andre Pederneiras John Alessio Kenichi yamamoto Hayato Sakurai Carlos Newton Gil Castillo Sean Sherk Frank Trigg Jon Fitch Thiago Alves Dan Hardy Josh Koscheck Jake Shields

You can embed this infographic on your blog or website. Copy & paste the code below into your site:

More Infographics

A Lineal History: UFC Heavyweight Championship
A Lineal History: UFC Light Heavyweight Championship
A Lineal History: UFC Middleweight Championship
A Lineal History: UFC Lightweight Championship
UFC Champions: By The Numbers
The Bracket: UFC 125-Pound Tournament


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>