FB TW IG YT VK
Search
MORE FROM OUR CHANNELS

Wrestlezone
FB TW IG YT VK

Alexa Grasso vs. Joanne Wood, Multiple Other Bouts Confirmed for UFC Columbus



A women’s flyweight clash pitting Alexa Grasso against Joanne Wood is one of multiple additions to the Ultimate Fighting Championship’s upcoming event in Columbus, Ohio, on March 26.

Promotion officials on Wednesday announced Grasso vs. Wood along with the following bouts: Sara McMann vs. Karol Rosa at bantamweight; Matheus Nicolau vs. David Dvorak at flyweight; Lerone Murphy vs. Nate Landwehr at featherweight and Aliaskhab Khizriev vs. Abusupiyan Magomedov at middleweight.

UFC Fight Night takes place at Nationwide Arena and is headlined by a light heavyweight tilt between Jan Blachowicz and Aleksandar Rakic. According to a release, the entire card will air on ESPN and ESPN+, with prelims beginning at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT and the main draw starting at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

Grasso and Wood were initially scheduled to meet on Nov. 20, but Grasso withdrew from the contest for undisclosed reasons. The Lobo Gym MMA representative is currently on a two-bout winning streak in the Octagon, with back-to-back decision wins over Ji Yeon Kim and Maycee Barber to her credit. Prior to that, Grasso went 3-3 during a six-fight UFC stint at 115 pounds.

Wood, meanwhile, ended up falling to Taila Santos via first-round submission at UFC Fight Night 198 on Nov. 20 — her third loss in four promotional appearances. The 35-year-old Scotland native last tasted victory at UFC 257, where she outpointed Jessica Eye in January 2021.

More

POLL

Which UFC 270 title fight are you most looking forward to?