Anthony Joshua vs. Andy Ruiz Jr. Official After Both Heavyweights Make Weight

By Tyler Treese May 31, 2019

Anthony Joshua will put his International Boxing Federation, World Boxing Association, and World Boxing Organization heavyweight titles up for grabs on Saturday night when he takes on challenger Andy Ruiz Jr. It's not expected to be much of a competitive affair as Joshua is a sizable -4000 favorite to retain his belts against Ruiz Jr., who has come up short in his previous title shot.

Despite being a heavy favorite, Joshua (22-0, 21 KO) looked great when he hit the scales and appears to be taking this challenge seriously. The undefeated British fighter is coming off of recent wins over Wladimir Klitschko, Joseph Parker, and Alexander Povetkin. He officially weighed in at 247.8 pounds.

While Ruiz Jr. (32-1, 21 KO) failed to capture the WBO belt when he faced off against Joseph Parker in late 2016, but he has rebounded nicely after his first career defeat. He's 3-0 since then and has earned stoppage victories over Devin Vargas and Alexander Dimitrenko. The underdog wound up weighing in at 268 pounds.

The undercard will see two other important title fights. WBA super middleweight champion Callum Smith (25-0, 18 KO) will look to make his first defense against Hassan N'Dam (37-3, 21 KO). Meanwhile, the women's lightweight belts will be fully unified as Katie Taylor (13-0, 6 KO) puts up her WBA, IBF and WBO belts on the line against World Boxing Council champ Delfine Persoon (43-1, 18 KO).

The entire card will be aired on Dazn starting at 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT, while the main card kicks off at 9 p.m ET/6 p.m. PT.

Joshua vs. Ruiz Jr. Weigh-in Results:

Anthony Joshua (247.8) vs. Andy Ruiz Jr. (268)
Callum Smith (167.6) vs. Hassan N'Dam (166)
Katie Taylor (134.6) vs. Delfine Persoon (130.6)

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>