Anthony Pettis Out of PFL 4 Due to Illness; Alex Martinez Now Faces Natan Schulte

By Tristen Critchfield Jun 9, 2021


Anthony Pettis has pulled out of PFL 4 after getting sick at weigh-ins, which has led to a reshuffling of Thursday’s card.

Pettis’ original opponent, Alex Martinez, will now square off against defending lightweight champion Natan Schulte at PFL 4. Pettis, meanwhile, will remain part of the lightweight season and face Raush Manfio on June 25.

AgFight was first to report the news of Pettis’ exit and the new bouts.

Schulte was slated to face Manfio, his friend and training partner at American Top Team, after Schulte’s original foe, Mikhail Odintsov, pulled out of PFL 4 due to injury. Schulte needs to win against Martinez to earn a spot in the PFL playoffs after falling to Marcin Held via unanimous decision at PFL 1.

After earning a split verdict over Loik Radzhabov at PFL 1, Martinez can clinch a playoff spot with a victory over Schulte on Thursday.

PFL 4 takes place at Ocean Casino Resort in Atlantic City, N.J., and is headlined by a women’s lightweight clash between Claressa Shields and Brittney Elkin. The main card airs on ESPN2 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT following prelims on ESPN+ at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>