Bellator Dublin Weigh-in Results: Leah McCourt, Judith Ruis on Target; 4 Fighters Heavy

By Tudor Leonte and Tyler Treese Feb 21, 2020

Bellator MMA returns to the 3Arena in Dublin to finish up its busy weekend with a 20-fight offering, and while the headliner is set, four fighters tipped the scales heavy.

Bellator Dublin will be headlined by a women’s featherweight bout between Leah McCourt and Judith Ruis. It was originally meant to feature a bout between James Gallagher and Cal Ellenor, but Gallagher withdrew due to injury.

McCourt (3-1) has found her rhythm after losing her pro debut to Rizlen Zouak. She’s a perfect 2-0 inside the Bellator cage and finished both Hatice Ozyurt and Kerry Hughes. The Belfast native hit the scales at the featherweight limit of 146 pounds.

Ruis (6-4) will look to use her experience advantage against her opponent. The German fighter is currently on a two-fight win streak after she submitted Cinja Kiefer and Irina Godynets. It’s the first such streak of her career, as she previously alternated wins and losses through her first eight bouts, and she’ll look to continue it. The former bantamweight easily came under the 146-pound cap by weighing 144.2 pounds.

Four fighters didn’t hit their marks: Chris Bungard, Richard Kiely, Alberth Dias and Constantin Blanita all came in heavy on the scales. Each of the four bouts have been rescheduled at appropriate catchweights.

Bellator Dublin will air live on Saturday on the Bellator app. Prelims will start at 11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT, while the main card kicks off at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT. The event will also air tape-delayed on Dazn starting at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT, while part of the card will be broadcast on the Paramount Network as Bellator 240 at 10 p.m. PT/7 p.m. PT.

Bellator Dublin Weigh-in Results:

Leah McCourt (146) vs. Judith Ruis (144.2)
Charlie Ward (185) vs. Kyle Kurtz (182.4)
Aaron Chalmers (169.8) vs. Austin Clem (169.9)
Brent Primus (154.8) vs. Chris Bungard* (159)
Kiefer Crosbie (159.6) vs. Iamik Furtado (159.8)
Bec Rawlings (125) vs. Elina Kallionidou (126)
Ricky Bandejas (135) vs. Frans Mlambo (135)
Lewis Long (170.8) vs. Oliver Enkamp (171)
Ilias Bulaid (145.6) vs. Diego Freitas (144.2)
Richard Kiely (181.2)** vs. George Hardwick (175.6)
Paul Redmond (156) vs. Georgi Karakhanyan (155.6)
Philip Mulpeter (155.4) vs. Daniel Crawford (156)
Asael Adjoudj (145.2) vs. Constantin Blanita (146.4)***
Richie Smullen (145) vs. Alberth Dias (149)^
Will Fleury (184.6) vs. Justin Moore (185.8)
Mateusz Piskorz (160.6) vs. Chris Duncan (160)
Dylan Logan (145) vs. Callum Murrie (145.2)
Blaine O'Driscoll (125.2) vs. Ezzoubair Bouarsa (125.8)
Ciaran Clarke (145) vs. Jamie Faulding (145.8)
Danni Neilan (115.6) vs. Chiara Penco (115.2)

* Bungard missed weight by three pounds.
** Kiely missed weight by 1.2 pounds.
*** Blanita missed weight by .4 pounds.
^ Dias missed weight by three pounds.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>