Combate Americas to Hold $100,000 Lightweight Tournament in Peru on Dec. 20

By Tristen Critchfield Dec 3, 2019


Combate Americas will head to Peru for the first time in promotion history with a $100,000 lightweight tournament on Dec. 20.

“Copa Combate” will feature eight lightweights competing in a one-night bracket at the Coliseo Manuel Bonilla in Lima, Peru, with the winner earning — in addition to the cash prize — a crack at reigning champion Rafa Garcia at a future event. The event will air in Spanish on Univision at 12 a.m. ET/11 p.m. CT and TUDN USA at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT and in English on Dazn at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

The eight fighters announced for the tournament are as follows: Erick Gonzalez, Humberto Bandenay, Jose Luis Verdugo, Esteban Ribovics, Hugo Prada, Lucas Corbage Schloenbach, Yoel Jimenez and Salvador Becerra.

The brackets and quarterfinal pairings will be announced soon. In a tournament alternate bout, Ignacio Bahamondes will square off against Milko Tucto. The winner of the alternate contest will be available to replace one of the original tournament competitors in the event of an injury.

“It’s been another year full of milestones for Combate Americas, and we are going to finish off 2019 by bringing the coveted ‘Copa Combate’ tournament to South America and Peru, for the first time ever with eight of the world’s most accomplished lightweight fighters,” said Combate Americas CEO Campbell McLaren.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>