Contract Issues Nix Ciryl Gane-Ante Delija Matchup at UFC Fight Night 180

By Tristen Critchfield Oct 14, 2020


UFC Fight Night 180 has lost its co-main event after “contract issues” caused Ante Delija to be pulled from a proposed heavyweight matchup with Ciryl Gane.

The Las Vegas-based promotion announced the news on Wednesday. As a result, a women’s flyweight clash pitting Katlyn Chookagian against Jessica Andrade has been elevated to the evening’s co-main event. Due to the short-notice nature of Delija’s exit, a replacement opponent will not be sought for Gane.

UFC Fight Night 180 takes place at the Flash Forum in Abu Dhabi on Saturday and is headlined by a featherweight scrap between Brian Ortega and the Korean Zombie. The main card airs on ESPN+ at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT, while the prelims stream immediately prior beginning at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT.

Gane was originally slated to square off against Shamil Abdurakhimov at UFC Fight Night 180, but Abdurakhimov withdrew from the bout due to undisclosed reasons and was replaced by Delija. Gane is 6-0 as a professional thus far, with three of those triumphs coming in UFC competition.

A veteran of KSW, Professional Fighters League, Rizin and M-1 Global, Delija has won eight of his last nine professional outings. The 30-year-old Croatian is 17-3 over the course of his career, with 13 victories coming inside the distance.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>