Filho Earns $30K in WEC Defeat

By Loretta Hunt Nov 7, 2008
Losers from Wednesday’s WEC 36 in Hollywood, Fla. came out the biggest winners in the pay department, according to figures released Friday by the Florida State Boxing Commission.

In the most dismal performance of his career, the previously undefeated Paulo Filho netted $30,750 for three rounds of painful-to-watch non-action against Chael Sonnen, this after the Brazilian failed to make weight the day prior and forfeited 25% of his purse to the American wrestler. Sonnen took in $29,250 plus a $19,000 win bonus for his unanimous decision nod.

Former UFC lightweight champion Jens Pulver made $33,000 from the 1:12 upset handed him by Leonard Garcia, while the Greg Jackson-trained fighter earned $20,000 for taking his elder opponent out with a flurry of strikes along the fence.

Underdog Mike Thomas Brown seized the featherweight crown from the long-established Urijah Faber and took home $18,000 with his shiny new strap. Faber, who was clotheslined by Brown while attempting to throw a risky back elbow without looking, made $14,000 for his first defeat in three years. “The California Kid” would have grabbed an extra $24,000 if his bid against Brown had been successful.

Donald Cerrone earned every penny of his $14,000 bounty and then some for his entertaining standoff with the equally engaging “Razor” Rob McCullough. McCullough was paid $18,000 for his troubles, plus a $7,500 “fight of the night” bonus that also went to Cerrone.

Hot Arizona State University wrestling prospect Aaron Simpson netted $10,000 for a highlight reel-worthy knockout of David Avellan, who earned $3,000. Simpson finished his business in a stunning 14 seconds.

WEC 36 Pay Scale

Paulo Filho - $30,750
Chael Sonnen - $29,250 + $19,000 win bonus
Urijah Faber - $14,000
Mike Thomas Brown - $9,000 + $9,000 win bonus
Jens Pulver - $33,000
Leonard Garcia - $10,000 + $10,000 win bonus
Nissen Osterneck - $4,000
Jake Rosholt - $11,000 + $11,000 win bonus
Rob McCullough - $18,000
Donald Cerrone - $7,000 + $7,000 win bonus
Aaron Simpson - $5,000 + $5,000 win bonus
David Avellan - $3,000
Jose Aldo – $4,000 + $4,000 win bonus
Jonathan Brookins – $3,000
Carmelo Marrero – $4,000 + $4,000 win bonus
Steve Steinbeiss - $6,000
Danny Castillo - $3,000 + $3,000 win bonus
Rafael Dias - $3,000
Rani Yahya – $6,000 + $6,000 win bonus
Yoshiro Maeda - $6,000
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>