Glory 64: Cedric Doumbe Recaptures Welterweight Title via TKO of Harut Grigorian

By Mike Sloan Mar 9, 2019

When you call yourself “The Best,” you must back up your statement and that is precisely what Cedric Doumbe did in the main event of Glory 64 on Saturday at Mercure Strasbourg Palais des Congres in Strasbourg, France.

Doumbe (71-7-1, 42 KOs) was electrifying against defending Glory welterweight champion Harut Grigorian as he knocked him out in the second. Doumbe rocked his Armenian counterpart with a pair of right hands to the head, dropping him midway through the second. The France resident exploded with an array of lefts to the body and right uppercuts to the jaw, dropping Grigorian (59-12, 33 KOs) again. However, Doumbe mistakenly thought the fight was over and ran out of the ring. By the time he realized his blunder, the official count on Grigorian began. Luckily for “Le Meilleur,” he didn’t sabotage a virtual surefire win because he floored the champ again with a left hook once the fight resumed, ending the fight on Glory’s three-knockdown rule. The win came at 2:59 of the round, allowing Doumbe to regain the title he lost over a year ago.

In the co-featured bout, Anissa Meksen made her hometown fans proud by toppling rival Tiffany Van Soest to retain her Glory super bantamweight title. Van Soest, who’s from San Diego but lives and fights out of Bali, started slowly in the fight and gave away the first two rounds. However, when “Time Bomb” picked up her pace in the latter stages of the contest, Meksen (98-4, 31 KOs) stayed with her blow-for-blow. The two traded powerful left hooks to the head and kicks to the legs and body, but overall, the Paris native was a step ahead of Van Soest (19-4-1, 6 KOs) for the majority of the duel. In the end, one judge favored Van Soest 48-47, but that score was overruled by the other four who saw it 49-46 and 50-45 (thrice), allowing Meksen to go up 2-0 overall on Van Soest.

Glory 64 Results:

Cedric Doumbe def. Harut Grigorian by TKO 3 (2:59) to capture the Glory welterweight title
Anissa Meksen def. Tiffany Van Soest by split decision (47-48, 49-46, 50-45, 50-45, 50-45) to retain the Glory super bantamweight title
D'Angelo Marshall def. Daniel Skvor by KO 3 (1:43)
Donegi Abena def. Michael Duut by split decision (27-30, 30-27, 29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Alim Nabiyev def. Murthel Groenhart by split decision (27-30, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Zinedine Hameur-Lain def. Artur Gorlov by disqualification (intentional foul) in round 1.
Anvar Boynazarov def. Abdellah Ezbiri by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-26, 29-27, 29-27, 29-27)
Mike Lemaire def. Arian Sadikovic by split decision (28-29, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Donovan Wisse def. Matej Penaz by TKO 2 (2:49)
Aleksei Ulianov def. Massaro Glunder by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Michael Palandre def. Guerric Billet by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Ertugrul Bayrak def. Jakob Styben by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Sarah Moussaddak def. Jiwaen Lee by split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Dani Traore def. Jeremy Antonio by TKO 2 (1:30 -- three-knockdown rule)
River Daz def. Vincent Foschiani by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 30-27, 28-29, 29-28)
Mathieu Ceva def. Daniel Krost by split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28, 29-28, 29-28)


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>