FB TW IG YT VK
Search
MORE FROM OUR CHANNELS

Wrestlezone
FB TW IG YT VK

Jeremiah Wells vs. Jake Matthews Pulled from UFC on ESPN 31 Due to COVID Protocols

A member of Jeremiah Wells’ team tested positive for COVID-19 just hours before his sophomore Octagon appearance, resulting in the cancellation of his UFC on ESPN 31 matchup with Jake Matthews.

Wells revealed the news in a post on his Instagram account. It’s currently unclear if the welterweight bout will be rescheduled for a future event, or if Wells and Matthews will be booked against different opponents.

“Sorry everyone, I just found out that my fight is canceled due to exposure of Covid,” Wells wrote. “My test result came back negative, but one of my corner men had a result of positive. Thank you to everyone who supported me, helped me with this fight camp and cheer me on.”

UFC on ESPN 31 will proceed with 13 fights. The card takes place at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas and is headlined by a bantamweight clash between Jose Aldo and Rob Font. The prelims begin on ESPN and ESPN+ at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT, while the main card airs on ESPN and ESPN+ beginning at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

More

POLL

What should be the next UFC men's flyweight title fight?