Lightweights Brian Foster, Natan Schulte to Headline PFL 5 in New York on Aug. 2

By Tristen Critchfield Jul 24, 2018


The Professional Fighters League regular season continues to roll on next month, as a lightweight duel pitting Brian Foster against Natan Schulte will headline the promotion’s fifth show.

PFL recently confirmed the lineup for the event, which takes place on Aug. 2 at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Uniondale, N.Y. The main card airs on NBC Sports Network at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT following Facebook Live prelims at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

The rest of the main draw includes two light heavyweight matchups – Vinny Magalhaes vs. Brandon Halsey and Maxim Grishin vs. Rakim Cleveland and a pair of 155-pound scraps – Rashid Magomedov vs. Luiz Firmino and Will Brooks vs. Robert Watley.

Four contests will kick off the preliminary bill: Dan Spohn vs. Artur Alibulatov at light heavyweight; Islam Mamedov vs. Efrain Escudero at lightweight; Thiago Tavares vs. Arthur Estrazulas at lightweight and Chris Wade vs. Yuki Kawana at lightweight.

Foster began his PFL campaign with a resounding win, as he knocked out UFC veteran Ramsey Nijem with a flying knee and follow-up punches 23 seconds into the third round of their June 21 encounter. The 34-year-old has won six of his last nine fights, with all of those victories coming inside the distance.

A 26-year-old representative of American Top Team, Schulte is coming off a three-round verdict over seven-time UFC competitor Chris Wade at PFL 2. The Brazilian lightweight has won 11 of his last 12 fights since beginning his career 1-2.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>

Events/Fights