Machida, Evans Earn $200,000 at UFC 98

By Staff May 26, 2009
It pays to be king of the hill.

Newly minted light heavyweight champion Lyoto Machida netted $200,000 for his gripping second-round knockout of Rashad Evans at UFC 98 “Evans vs. Machida” last Saturday at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

The 30-year-old Machida (15-0) flustered Evans (13-1-1) early with a persistent left kick and floored the former champion in both rounds. The beginning of the end came with a crushing left hook that staggered the Michigan wrestler in the second round. Evans never recovered from the barrage of strikes that followed from every direction, and was left listless on the cage by his aggressor.

Evans earned $200,000 in defeat, while the UFC matched up Machida’s purse by adding a knockout bonus of $60,000 to the Brazilian’s bounty.

Former welterweight titan Matt Hughes was the event’s big breadwinner though. The 34-year-old wrestler took $260,000 back to the Prairie State with him in his sixteenth Octagon victory and shrugged off previous statements that he’s content to hang up his gloves.

Rival Matt Serra, who coached opposite Hughes on “The Ultimate Fighter 6” nearly a year and a half ago, made $135,000 for the unanimous decision loss. Hughes and Serra shared in the spoils of a $120,000 “Fight of the Night” bonus doled out by promoters.

Rising lightweight Frankie Edgar banked $40,000 and formidable bragging rights for his defining victory over former lightweight champion Sean Sherk, who also earned $40,000.

UFC 98 Payouts

Lyoto Machida -- $200,000 (including $70,000 win bonus, $60,000 knockout bonus) def. Rashad Evans -- $200,000

Matt Hughes -- $260,000 (including $100,000 win bonus) def. Matt Serra -- $135,000 (including $60,000 fight of night bonus)

Drew McFedries -- $34,000 (including $17,000 win bonus) def. Xavier Foupa-Pokam -- $6,000

Chael Sonnen -- $50,000 (including $25,000 win bonus) def. Dan Miller -- $15,000

Frankie Edgar -- $40,000 (including $20,000 win bonus) def. Sean Sherk -- $40,000

Brock Larson -- $102,000 (including $21,000 win bonus, $60,000 submission bonus) def. Mike Pyle -- $15,000

Tim Hague -- $10,000 (including $5,000 win bonus) def. Patrick Barry -- $7,000

Kyle Bradley -- $8,000 (including $5,000 win bonus) def. Phillipe Nover -- $10,000

Krzysztof Soszynski -- $16,000 (including $8,000 win bonus) def. Andre Gusmao -- $5,000

Yoshiyuki Yoshida -- $16,000 (including $8,000 win bonus) def. Brandon Wolff -- $3,000

George Roop -- $16,000 (including $8,000 win bonus) def. David Kaplan -- $8,000

Note: These numbers, sent to by the Nevada State Athletic Commission, are disclosed pay only.
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>