Neil Magny vs. Michael Chiesa Official as New UFC on ESPN 20 Headliner on Jan. 20

By Tristen Critchfield Jan 4, 2021


A welterweight clash pitting Neil Magny against Michael Chiesa has been elevated to the new UFC on ESPN 20 main event, promotion officials announced Monday.

The Jan. 20 card’s originally scheduled headliner, Leon Edwards vs. Khamzat Chimaev, was scrapped when Chimaev experienced complications after testing positive for COVID-19 in early December. According to a release, the plan is to reschedule Edwards vs. Chimaev for a third time later this year.

UFC on ESPN 20 takes place on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi and will also see Carlos Condit face Matt Brown at 170 pounds, while Jimmie Rivera takes on Pedro Munhoz at bantamweight. The main card airs on ESPN and ESPN+ at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT, while the prelims begin on ESPN and ESPN+ at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT.

After not competing at all in 2019, Magny went 3-0 within the Las Vegas-based promotion last year, earning successive decision triumphs against Jingliang Li, Anthony Rocco Martin and Robbie Lawler. The Elevation Fight Team product is 17-6 in UFC competition with other notable wins against the likes of Carlos Condit, Johny Hendricks, Hector Lombard, Kelvin Gastelum and Tim Means.

Chiesa, meanwhile, has emerged as a contender at 170 pounds since moving up from lightweight in 2018. “The Ultimate Fighter 15” winner has kicked off his welterweight run with victories against Condit, Diego Sanchez and Rafael dos Anjos. “Maverick” went 7-4 during his stint at 155 pounds.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>