Nevada Commission Approves Five UFC Events, Four Contender Series Cards for August

By Tristen Critchfield Jul 1, 2020


Sign up for ESPN+ right here, and you can then stream the UFC live on your smart TV, computer, phone, tablet or streaming device via the ESPN app.

August will be a busy month for Ultimate Fighting Championship fans.

The Nevada State Athletic Commission on Wednesday approved nine dates for the promotion, a total that includes five UFC events and four Dana White’s Contender Series cards. All of the events will take place behind closed doors at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas. The UFC has not formally announced the majority of the fights or events slated for next month.

The August schedule is highlighted by UFC 252 on Aug. 15, which is headlined by a heavyweight championship trilogy clash between Stipe Miocic and Daniel Cormier. That main card will air on pay-per-view via ESPN+ at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, while the prelims begin on ESPN and ESPN+ at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

The rest of the cards are Fight Night events: Aug. 1 is headlined by Holly Holm vs. Irene Aldana; Aug. 8 is topped by Derrick Lewis vs. Alexey Oleynik; Aug. 22 does not have an announced main event but is expected to include Yoel Romero vs. Uriah Hall and Aug. 29 also does not have a headliner finalized but will feature a light heavyweight duel pitting Anthony Smith against Aleksandar Rakic.

Meanwhile, Dana White’s Contender Series will kick off on Tuesday nights next month with shows on Aug. 4, Aug. 11, Aug. 18 and Aug. 25. Lineups for those cards have not been announced.

The promotion will spend the entirety of July at Yas Island in Abu Dhabi with four cards beginning with UFC 251 on July 11.

Advertisement

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>