UFC 248 Weigh-in Results: Title Fights Set, Emily Whitmire Misses Weight

By Tyler Treese Mar 6, 2020

The Ultimate Fighting Championship returns to the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas for its third pay-per-view of 2020, and both title fights are now official.

UFC 248 is headlined by a middleweight championship affair between Israel Adesanya and Yoel Romero. Adesanya (18-0) has been perfect in his MMA career. The City Kickboxing representative claimed the interim championship against Kelvin Gastelum and then knocked out Robert Whittaker to unify the titles. "The Last Stylebender" will look to make his first defense against his Cuban foe, and looked great on the scales as he came in at 184.5 pounds.

Romero (13-4) receives the title opportunity while on a controversial two-fight losing streak. The “Soldier of God” lost close decisions to Paulo Henrique Costa and Whittaker. He’ll look to claim his first UFC championship against Adesanya after coming up short twice against Whittaker. Unlike his last title fight, Romero made weight and was officially 185 pounds.

The second part of UFC 248’s championship doubleheader sees strawweight queen Weili Zhang take on Joanna Jedrzejczyk. China’s Zhang won the belt in just 42 seconds when she knocked out Jessica Andrade last year. Her first defense will be against a former champion in Joanna Jedrzejczyk, who returned to the division with a dominant decision win over Michelle Waterson. The Polish fighter had made five successful title defenses before losing the belt to Rose Namajunas.

The UFC 248 main card will air live on ESPN+ pay-per-view starting at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Early prelims will be streamed on both ESPN+ and UFC Fight Pass kicking off at 6:15 p.m. ET/3:15 p.m. PT, and two hours of featured preliminary action will air live on ESPN starting at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

UFC 248 Weigh-in Results:

Israel Adesanya (184.5) vs. Yoel Romero (185)
Weili Zhang (115) vs. Joanna Jedrzejczyk (115)
Beneil Dariush (156) vs. Drakkar Klose (156)
Neil Magny (171) vs. Jingliang Li (171)
Alex Oliveira (171) vs. Max Griffin (170.5)
Jose Alberto Quinonez (135.5) vs. Sean O'Malley (135.5)
Mark O. Madsen (156) vs. Austin Hubbard (154.5)
Rodolfo Vieira (186) vs. Saparbek Safarov (186)
Gerald Meerschaert (185) vs. Deron Winn (185.5)
Emily Whitmire (117.5)* vs. Polyana Viana (116)
Jamall Emmers (145.5) vs. Giga Chikadze (146)
Guido Cannetti (135.5) vs. Danaa Batgerel (136)

* Whitmire missed weight by 1.5 pounds and will forfeit 20 percent of her purse.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>