Timur Valiev-Chris Gutierrez Rematch Tops Seven-Bout WSOF 33 Undercard

By Tristen Critchfield Sep 1, 2016

A bantamweight rematch between Timur Valiev and Chris Gutierrez will serve as the featured preliminary contest for World Series of Fighting 33.

The Las Vegas-based promotion revealed the seven-bout undercard for the Oct. 7 event, which takes place at the Kansas City Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Mo. and is headlined by a lightweight championship showdown between Justin Gaethje and Ozzy Dugulubgov. The evening’s main card will air on NBC Sports Network at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT, while the prelim stream begins on WSOF.com at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

The other six preliminary bouts set for WSOF 33 are as follows: Jesse Brock vs. Bekbulat Magomedov at bantamweight; Abu Azaitar vs. Michael Arrant at welterweight; Islam Mamedov vs. Alonzo Martinez at lightweight; Magomed Magomedkerimov vs. Bobby Cooper at welterweight; Bryce Mitchell vs. Brandon Phillips at featherweight and Bruno Santos vs. Clinton Williams at middleweight.

Valiev saw a ten-fight winning streak come to an end against Gutierrez at WSOF 28, as the 26-year-old Dagestani dropped a split-decision to the Texas native. Prior to that, Valiev began his promotional tenure with four straight triumphs.

The 25-year-old Gutierrez has tasted defeat just once in 11 professional outings and enters the rematch with Valiev on a seven-fight tear. “El Guapo” has finished five of his victories by knockout or technical knockout.


Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>