Conor McGregor Delivers Social Media Voice Message to ‘Silly Hillbilly’ Dustin Poirier

By Tristen Critchfield Jul 6, 2021


Conor McGregor has kicked off UFC 264 fight week with a different type of social media strategy ahead of his trilogy bout with Dustin Poirier.

Late Monday night, the Irish star delivered an eerie voice message to his opponent via Twitter.

“Dustin,” McGregor said. “‘Peahead’ ... I’m coming for you Peahead. Silly hillbilly.”

After a cordial approach by both fighters heading into UFC 257, tensions already seem to be rising heading into Saturday’s UFC 264 headliner. Both men will likely have plenty to say at a pre-fight press conference scheduled for Thursday at the T-Mobile Arena 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

After defeating McGregor via second-round technical knockout in their January rematch, Poirier said he was prepared for a less civil approach from the former two-division champion heading into their trilogy.

“The good thing about this one is if it’s crazy Conor again, I just don’t give a f—k anymore,” Poirier told ESPN. “I really don’t care. And in the last one too, if he’d have been crazy, I’d have been all right … I think it’s gonna be crazy Conor again, I’m pretty sure. How crazy can you be? You got knocked out last time. We put you on airplane mode in front of the world, in Abu Dhabi. What can you say?”

UFC 264 takes place at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas on Saturday. The main card airs on pay-per-view via ESPN+ at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Prelims begin on ESPN/ESPN+ at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT and continue on ESPN/ESPN+ at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>