Sadibou Sy Replaces Joao Zeferino, Meets Magomed Magomedkerimov at PFL Playoffs

By Tristen Critchfield Aug 4, 2021

There has been a shakeup in the bracket for the Professional Fighters League welterweight playoffs.

Joao Zeferino has suffered an undisclosed injury and will not be able to face Magomed Magomedkerimov in a scheduled 170-pound semifinal bout on Aug. 13. As a result, Sadibou Sy will step in as an alternate and square off against Magomedkerimov.

Sy went 1-0 with one no contest during the 2021 PFL season. Most recently, the 34-year-old Pancrase Gym Sweden representative earned a unanimous decision over Alexey Kunchenko on June 17.

There have been several changes to the preliminary portion of the PFL Playoff 1 card, as well. With Sy moving into the playoffs, Gleison Tibau will now face Curtis Millender in a welterweight contest. Additionally, Darrell Horcher will step in for Natan Schulte and meet Olivier Aubin-Mercier at lightweight, while Tyler Hill will replace Nikolay Aleksahkin and lock horns with Brett Cooper at welterweight.

Finally, a lightweight clash pitting Elvin Espinoza against Hopeton Stewart has been added to the card.

PFL Playoff 1 takes place at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Hollywood, Fla., and features the lightweight and welterweight seminfinals. The card is headlined by a 170-pound matchup between Rory MacDonald and Ray Cooper III. The main card airs on ESPN2 and ESPN+ at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, while the prelims stream on ESPN+ at 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>