Shane Kruchten vs. Lance Gibson Jr. Removed from Friday’s Bellator 244 Card

By Tristen Critchfield Aug 18, 2020


Bellator 244 is now down one fight, as a proposed lightweight clash between Shane Kruchten and Lance Gibson Jr. has been removed from Friday’s card.

According to a promotion official, Kruchten was not licensed by the Mohegan Sun commission. MMAjunkie.com was first to report the cancellation.

As it currently stands, Bellator 244 will move forward with 11 bouts. The card takes place at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut, and is headlined by a light heavyweight title clash between Ryan Bader and Vadim Nemkov. The evening’s main card airs on Paramount Network and Dazn at 10 p.m. ET/9 p.m. CT, while the prelims stream immediately prior on Bellator’s YouTube channel beginning at 7:30 ET/4:30 PT. Kruchten vs. Gibson Jr. was slated for the preliminary draw.

The 36-year-old Kruchten is 0-2 with the California-based promotion after being finished by Aaron Pico and Daniel Straus in his first two appearances. The 10th Planet Jiu-Jitsu representative is 12-5 as a professional overall.

Gibson Jr., meanwhile, is 3-0 in his burgeoning professional career. He kicked off his promotional tenure with a first-round knockout of Dominic Jones at Bellator 232 this past October.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>