Combate Americas Announces Four Matches for Jan. 19 Mexico City Event

By Mike Sloan Jan 3, 2017
Combate Americas, the world’s leading Latino-based MMA promotion, on Tuesday announced four bouts to its historic event in Mexico City on Jan. 19. Headlining the fistic festivities will be a bantamweight showdown between Steve Swanson and Gustavo Lopez, while Nicdali Rivera-Calanoc will take on Lisbeth Lopez Silva in an atomweight co-feature.

Swanson, the younger brother of UFC veteran Cub Swanson, has been on fire lately. The Californian has scored four consecutive knockouts, with his latest victim being Christian Rios, whom he starched in just 38 seconds back in October. Lopez, meanwhile, who trains out of Xtreme Couture in Las Vegas, went 3-0 in Combate Americas’ “Road to the Championship” series between 2015-16.

Rivera-Calanoc in an Invicta FC veteran and is coming off a split decision win over Ronni Nanney last March. Lopez Silva has won two straight, with her last conquest coming in May via decision over Yajaira Romo de Carano.

Also slated for the bill will be a lightweight collision between Rodrigo Vargas and Marco Antonio Elpidio while Jose Ceja will oppose Joey Ruquet in a bantamweight affair.

The event will take place at El Plaza Condesa in Mexico’s capital city and will be streamed live on UFC Fight Pass beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, followed by a broadcast live on Azteca America at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>