Bellator 172 Salaries: Freire ($80K), Kongo ($75K), Koscheck ($75K) Top Payroll

By Tristen Critchfield Feb 22, 2017

Patricky Freire pocketed an event-high $80,000 for his victory over Josh Thomson in the Bellator 172 headliner this past Saturday.

A right uppercut and follow-up hammerfists from “Pitbull” ended Thomson’s night 40 seconds into round two of their lightweight encounter. Thomson earned a disclosed $10,000 in defeat The California State Athletic Commission released salaries from the event to on Wednesday.

Other top earners for the event included Cheick Kongo, who garnered $75,000 for a lopsided unanimous decision triumph against Oli Thompson in the heavyweight co-main event and Josh Koscheck, who took home $75,000 for his promotional debut, a first-round TKO defeat to Mauricio Alonso ($20,000).

Note: The disclosed purses reported by state athletic commissions do not include any performance-based or discretionary bonuses that may be awarded to a fighter by the promotion. Additionally, the reported figures do not reflect any deductions made by the commission for taxes, insurance, etc., and do not include any sponsorship money that a fighter may acquire for their performance.

Bellator 172 Salaries:

Patricky Freire: $80,000 (includes $40,000 win bonus)
Josh Thomson: $10,000

Cheick Kongo: $75,000 (no win bonus)
Oli Thompson: $25,000

Anatoly Tokov: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
Francisco France: $12,000

Veta Artega: $12,000 (includes $6,000 win bonus)
Brooke Mayo: $8,000

Mauricio Alonso: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
Josh Koscheck: $75,000

James Terry $6,000 (includes $3,000 win bonus)
J.C. Lamas: $2,500

Nikko Jackson: $2,000 (includes $1,000 win bonus)
Cesar Gonzalez: $1,000

Juan Cardenas: $2,000 (includes $1,000 win bonus)
Luis Vargas: $1,000

Bobby Escalante: $2,000 (includes $1,000 win bonus)
Anthony Do: $1,500

Jeremy Murphy: $2,400 ($1,200)
Matt Ramirez: $1,800

J.J. Okanovich: $3,000 (includes $1,500 win bonus)
Zach Andrews: $1,500

Justin Tenedora: $2,000 (includes $1,000 win bonus)
Roque Reyes: $1,000

Martin Sano: $2,000
Diego Herzog: $2,500

Gaston Bolanos: $4,000 (no win bonus)
Abner Perez: $1,000

Abraham Vaesau: $2,000 (includes no win bonus)
Dominic Sumner: $1,000

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>