Bellator 262 Loses Linton Vassell-Marcelo Golm Heavyweight Bout Due to Injury

By Tristen Critchfield Jul 13, 2021


Bellator 262 is down one fight following the cancellation of a proposed heavyweight clash between Linton Vassell and Marcelo Golm.

The California-based promotion announced that the bout was scrapped due to an undisclosed injury to one of the competitors. As a result, a bantamweight scrap pitting Matheus Mattos against Cee Jay Hamilton has been promoted to the main card. Additionally, a lightweight showdown between Charlie Campbell and Nick Giulietti has been added to the preliminary draw.

Bellator 262 takes place on Friday at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., and is headlined by a women’s flyweight championship tilt between Juliana Velasquez and Denise Kielholtz. The main card airs on Showtime at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, while prelims stream at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT on the Bellator YouTube channel, Showtime Sports YouTube and Pluto TV.

A former light heavyweight title challenger, Vassell is coming off back-to-back technical knockout victories against Ronny Markes and Sergei Kharitonov at heavyweight. The 38-year-old Englishman is 20-8 as a professional and 9-5 under the Bellator banner.

A four-time UFC competitor, Golm was set to make his promotional debut against Vassell. The 28-year-old Brazilian went 1-3 in the Octagon but authored consecutive finishes of D.J. Linderman and Brandon Herbert on the regional circuit before signing with Bellator.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>