CSAC Denies Cat Zingano’s Appeal of Loss to Megan Anderson at UFC 232

By Tristen Critchfield Feb 19, 2019


Cat Zingano’s technical knockout loss to Megan Anderson at UFC 232 will stand.

The California State Athletic Commission upheld Anderson’s win in the Dec. 29 featherweight bout by a 6-1 vote on Tuesday. MMAFighting.com was first to report the ruling.

Anderson won the fight in 61 seconds after her toe injured Zingano’s eye during a kick. Zingano’s team contended that a toe to the eye should be viewed as a foul just the same as a finger to the eye. However, a strike to the eyes from a punch or kick is not regarded as a foul according to the unified rules of MMA.

Zingano said after the fight that the kick left her with a “damaged iris, damaged retina, hemorrhage in the back of my eye, increased globe pressure and of course the laceration.” The former bantamweight title challenger revealed more recently that the eye is still giving her issues, including fatigue and a loss of depth perception and dexterity. She is expected to have a follow-up appointment with an eye doctor on March 1.

With her most recent defeat upheld, Zingano has now lost four of her last five Octagon appearances.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>