Frank Mir-Roy Nelson Rematch Headlines Bellator 231 in Connecticut on Oct. 25

By Tristen Critchfield Aug 26, 2019


A rematch between Frank Mir and Roy Nelson will serve as the headliner for the first of back-to-back Bellator MMA cards in October.

The California-based promotion announced the heavyweight contest on Monday. Mir vs. Nelson will top Bellator 231 at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., on Oct. 25. The main card will air on Paramount Network and Dazn at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT.

One day later, Bellator 232 will take place at the same venue with a card headlined by the welterweight grand prix final matchup between reigning 170-pound champion Rory MacDonald and Douglas Lima. The main draw for that event will air exclusively on Dazn at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

Mir and Nelson initially squared off at UFC 230, with Mir winning a unanimous decision at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on May 28, 2011. After the lopsided bout, “Big Country” revealed that he had been battling walking pneumonia.

A former UFC heavyweight champion, Mir is still looking for his first victory in Bellator MMA. After suffering a 48-second KO defeat to Fedor Emelianenko in his promotional debut, the 40-year-old Las Vegas resident was stopped by Javy Ayala in the second round of his sophomore appearance at Bellator 212 this past December. Mir has lost four in a row dating back to his UFC tenure.

Nelson, meanwhile, has dropped three consecutive contests since outpointing Ayala in his Bellator debut in September 2017. Most recently, Nelson fell to Mirko Filipovic via unanimous decision at Bellator 216 on Feb. 16. “Big Country” has won just three of his last 11 professional outings.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>