PFL 6 Gets Updated Heavyweight Card After Fabricio Werdum, Mohammed Usman Withdraw

By Tristen Critchfield Jun 8, 2021


The heavyweight portion of the card for PFL 6 has undergone some changes after Fabricio Werdum and Mohammed Usman have withdrawn from the event.

As previously reported, Werdum pulled out of a scheduled clash with Brandon Sayles because he hadn’t recovered from the damage received in a technical knockout loss to Renan Ferreira at PFL 3 on May 8. Though the defeat was overturned to a no contest when video footage revealed that Ferreira tapped to a triangle choke moments earlier, Werdum will nonetheless be unable to compete on June 25 because he did not receive medical clearance.

Meanwhile, Usman has pulled out of a clash with Denis Goltsov due to injury. The younger brother of UFC welterweight champion Kamaru Usman was submitted by Sayles in his first appearance of the season at PFL 3.

As a result, Sayles and Goltsov will square off in a heavyweight main card bout, the promotion announced Tuesday.

PFL 6 takes place on June 25 at Ocean Casino Resort in Atlantic City, N.J., and is headlined by a women’s lightweight scrap pitting Kayla Harrison against Cindy Dandois. The main card airs on ESPN2 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT following prelims on ESPN+ at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>